Chocolate chunk blueberry muffins

IMG_4366

Ah, Internets.  When I first tried out these muffins, it was a grey and rainy day here in The Peg.  It was the kind of day where it’s hard to motivate myself to get up and retrieve my giant cup of tea I made.  It was the kind of day where the fact that I watched three seasons of “Girls” in one week makes me sad.  It’s dreary and awful enough that I might have soup for both lunch and dinner even though it’s FRIGGING JUNE.  It’s the kind of day when muffins happen.

I was inspired by this yummy banana cake  that I’ve made a ba-gillion times before, these tasty-looking muffins that I happened across a few weeks ago and my newly discovered taste for chocolate and blueberries together.

Everyone knows I love chocolate.  Like, real bad.  It’s never been a “woman” thing with me–it was always a “Meggo” thing.  When I was younger, we’d get Jeanne’s cake (Winnipeggers, you know what I’m talking about!) for birthdays or other special occasions and I would always get the little chocolate curls that fell off when other people were having their pieces sliced.  Always.

IMG_4364

What might surprise you is that I’m picky with chocolate.  I used to be a fan of milk chocolate all the way but now I find even the dairy-free milk chocolate (yeah, that exists!!) to be way too sweet.  I hate mint chocolate.  I DESPISE mint chocolate–who in their right mind would want their chocolate to taste like toothpaste!?  Crazy people, if you ask me.  Chocolate should never be spicy.  Fruit and chocolate is divine.

I’m also kind of weird about muffins.  I hate when they’re greasy.  I don’t like when the top is all crunchy.  They shouldn’t be too sweet.  I don’t really get why people smear butter, margarine, what have you on them.  To me, a perfect muffin is soft, chewy, a little sweet, filled with deliciousness and doesn’t need any butter, margarine, what have you smeared onto it.

IMG_4367

Muffins that fulfill all the above requirements plus they’re gluten- and oil-free?  Amazing.

Chocolate chunk blueberry muffins
Makes 12 muffins

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup quinoa flakes*
1/3 cup coconut sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
tiny dash of ground clove
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 medium ripe bananas (the spottier the better!)
1/3 cup applesauce
1/4 cup non-dairy milk
1/4 cup (heaping), smooth almond butter
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)*
As many chocolate chunks/chips as you want!

1.) Process the oats in a food processor, blender, coffee grinder or whatever until you get a fine flour.  Throw the flour in a large mixing bowl.

2.) Add the sugar, spices, soda, powder and salt to the flour.  Mix everything well.

3.) In a bowl, mash the bananas with a fork until they’re as smooth as you can make them.  Add the rest of the wet ingredients (applesauce through to vanilla) and mix well.  Alternatively, you can throw all the wet ingredients into a blender and mix them up that way.

4.) Add the wet mixture to the dry and mix until just combined, being careful not to overmix.  You want your muffins to be light and delicious!

5.) Gently fold in the blueberries and chocolate.  The trick to baking with frozen blueberries is to add them right at the end!

6.) Pour batter into a greased muffin tin, filling the cups about three quarters of the way.

7.) Bake at 350F for 15-18 minutes (mine took 17 minutes) or until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_4386

That’s it!  Now you’ve got yummy muffins, Internets!

Meggo

5 thoughts on “Chocolate chunk blueberry muffins

  1. These sound wonderful! I’m weird about muffins, too. I don’t like when they’re too oily or too sweet. Sounds like you mirror my tastes. I’ll definitely try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

