Peanut butter coconut chocolate chip cookies

I know, I know, it’s a mouthful of a recipe but that’s only because you’ll be stuffing your face full of these babies soon!

IMG_4328

I also know that I’ve let the blog sit for awhile without any updates or anything but life got all crazy this week!  I was originally planning on posting a recipe for a dragon bowl (don’t worry, it’ll come soon!) but then I realized that I didn’t have snap peas, which are very crucial to a delicious dragon bowl. Since I have to do some cooking for the Beef anyway, I figured, “Hey, I feel sorry for the kid.  I should bake him some cookies”.

Now, I don’t claim to have that recipe for cookies that people ask me for or beg me to bring to parties but, I think these babies are pretty good.  Maybe I’ll finally achieve cookie person status the next time I’m going to a party!

I actually created these by total accident.  I was making a lot of (mostly) raw peanut butter cookie dough (you know, to throw in my banana ice cream) in the summer and, one day, I noticed I had a bag of mostly untouched shredded coconut laying around.  Since I’m lazy, I decided “Well, I’ll just throw it into my cookie dough next time to use it up”.  That was the best lazy decision I’ve ever made because I discovered that peanut butter and coconut is INSANELY delicious together!  When I perfected that recipe and it was starting to get chillier outside, I thought “You know, I could make these into BAKED cookies!”.  And that’s the story of how these little guys came to be. You know what else is great about these cookies, other than the fact that they’re totally egg- and dairy-free?  They’re gluten free, too!  Just make sure you use gluten-free certified rolled oats if gluten is an issue.

Enough chattering, let’s get to the cookies!

IMG_4325

Just noticed the Windex in the background…major oversight on my part!! I promise the cookies are safe!

Peanut butter coconut chocolate chip cookies
Makes 2 dozen

1 cup natural peanut butter
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup coconut sugar (or sucanat, brown sugar or whatever you’ve got on hand)
1 1/2 cups rolled oats, ground into flour*
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt (only if your peanut butter is unsalted)
1/2 cup dairy-free milk (I used almond)
all the chocolate chips you want!!

1.) Preheat your oven to 375F.

2.) Combine the peanut butter, coconut oil and vanilla and mix well.  I find a hand mixer works well for this.

3.) Combine the sugar, flour, coconut, baking soda and salt (if using) in a separate bowl.

4.) Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture and mix until a stiff dough forms.

5.) Add the milk GRADUALLY while mixing until a very sticky dough forms.

6.) Throw in as much chocolate as you want and mix ’em in.  Eat some dough because it’s delicious.

7.) Take about 2 tbsps of dough, roll them into a ball and place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet.  I find it’s easier to wet my hands before working with the dough since it’s so sticky.  Flatten the cookies because they won’t spread very much.  Eat more dough.

8.) Bake these delicious morsels for 8 to 10 minutes, until the edges are golden.  LET THEM SIT FOR AT LEAST 10 MINUTES ON THE COOKIE SHEET BEFORE MOVING THEM!  They’re really fragile at this stage!!

9.) Eat all the cookies!  With a side of almond milk, of course.

Notes: To make oat flour, simply throw whole rolled oats into a blend, food processor or coffee grinder and let it go until you have a flour going on!  Alternatively, you can use 1 1/2 cups of store bought oat flour.

IMG_4326

I’m thinking of writing a Beatles cover called “Happiness is a Warm Cookie”. I feel like it would be BIG.

With that, I’m off to deliver lunch and these cookies to the Beef.

Thanks for reading, Internets, Meggo

Leave a Reply

